Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how many shots for my 5dmark 3 and 16-35mm lens?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how many shots for my 5dmark 3 and 16-35mm lens?

Hey all,
    I am new to the 360, have watched tons of videos online and read a lot of the articles here, but cannot find videos on how to figure this out, I could use some help with a few things:
    1. I have a canon 5d mark 3, with the 16-35mm lens and the nn3 mk3. I want to shoot up and down as well to get full coverage.
    How many shots level all the way around with my set up? and what degree do I shoot up and down or is it straight up and down? I have seen so many different ways to do it and really just need guidance.
    2. do I need a tripod head or can I put the nn straight on top of the tripod?
    Thank you in advance for the help!!
    Kristin

Hello Kristin, welcome to the wonderful world of 360° Panoramas.

Although I don't have the same kit as you (Nikon FX body + 10.5mm fisheye + NN3) I can hopefully give you some pointers.
    A rule of thumb is that the shorter the focal length the greater the angle of view so the less shots round and less rows needed but less resolution.
    There are a number of 'tables' which you can find with a search engine, but I fund I tend to take more shots than these tables suggest because I try and aim for 50% overlap horizontally and between 30% (maybe 25%) and 50% between rows.as I find this kind of overlap gives me good Control Point generation in PTGui and enough to use the 'Mask' tool to edit out 'movement'.
    For example: with FX body and 10.5mm fisheye and the camera in 'portrait' orientation I can take a single row with 4 shots round at +7.5° plus 1 hand held nadir shot, but if there is movement from people, animals, clouds, etc. I take 6 shots round to give me more scope with the 'Mask' tool.